March 11 Blog

Just Don’t Call Me Mr. Mom

In “Just Don’t Call me Mr. Mom” by Brian Baker, he talks about himself as a stay at home dad, and the grief that is coming from his dad because of this “Mr. Mom” job. I have always found it funny when parents sniff diapers and apparently Brian Bakers father did as well. His dad in this story is implying to Brian that men shouldn’t be the one home taking care of the kids, but should be the primary breadwinner. Like the story said, his dad was gone from 7:00 AM and didn’t return for twelve hours. I don’t agree with his dad entirely, I see where he’s coming from, but I don’t think that staying home and taking care of the kids should be limited to a women’s job. In the last decade the number of stay at home dads has went up 300% and its up to 11% of the population, this number was surprising to me. I think the men have a good reason for staying home, and they just want to raise their kids in a good way. Perhaps it also has a lot to do with how much there own fathers worked and how little time they spent with them. I think this was good story about something that is somewhat an embarrassing subject for men. The number of men that are starting to become stay at him dads is increasing, and I think it is something that people are going to have to adjust to. I think this author does a good job of describing the things a stay at home dad must go through, but mostly the rewards that a dad will get by doing so. I thought this story was entertaining on was on an interesting subject that I have never read about before. “Rather, I want her to know that in me she’ll always have a place to turn to feel safe, to calibrate her values, to seek council, to receive encouragement.” (Braiker 240). Asyndeton.

“Loneliness…an American Malady”

In this short story by Carson McCullers, the author talks about Americans and their loneliness. The author describes how afraid we Americans are to be lonely, and how common it is in our world today. Personally I can understand his friends desire to be alone, to a point. But I think more than a problem, its just some individuals way of life. Some prefer to be alone, some always want to be surrounded by people. The author mentions the question “Who am I?” I think this is a question that a lot of people deal with in the world today. I think this author does a good job of discussing a “problem” that many Americans deal with in their busy lives. Also he discusses the importance of not only finding time for people, but also finding time to find yourself.

“The baby reaches for his toes, then explores the bars of his crib; again and again he compares the difference between his own body and the objects around him, and in the wavering, infant eyes there comes a pristine wonder.” (McCullers 267) Balance trope.

“Somebody’s Baby”

In this short story by Barbara Kingsolver, she talks about the difference in the love of children between the United States, and other places. She uses Spain as her example; she says, “people there like kids.” I do understand where she is coming from, because almost everyone here says they like kids, but do you think they all actually do care about them? The author does a good job of using examples of Spain compared to examples of the U.S. Here she describes how children are sometimes looked down upon, such as a burden, and in Spain children were looked upon as a blessing, like the most important thing. After reading this it helps me realize that in a lot of ways, the author is right. At first I didn’t really believe her, but after reading my opinion changed a little bit. I think she does a good job of not overly criticizing the U.S. but emphasizing how important children should be to us. Not looked at like a burden, but a blessing.

“But unlike many other species we are social, insightful, and capable of anticipating our future.” (Kingsolver 283) Balance trope.

“A Respectable Woman”

In this story by Kate Chopin, the author talks about disliking a man from the beginning, but having to pull herself away from him at the end. I think a lot of people will have something in common with this story. It seems like a classic “don’t judge a book by its cover” situation. I too have not cared for someone from his or her first impressions, but after you get to know them you begin to like them. Right after you begin reading you begin to understand why the author named it “A Respectable Women”. This woman was tempted but she realized that by the standards of a respectable woman, it wasn’t the right thing to do, which is something that a lot of people, not just women, can understand. I think the subject of a respectable woman was a good one to write on, it’s something that is important to me as well. It’s always been important to me that a woman respects herself, and the man she is involved with. I think the author did a good job with this story because it had some mystery in it that kept you wanting to read more.

“Oh, she told him, laughingly, after pressing a long, tender kiss upon his lips, I have overcome everything! You will see. This time I shall be very nice to him.” (Chopin 288) Irony.

Published in: on March 15, 2010 at 6:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmwilliams7.wordpress.com/2010/03/15/53/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment